Minority Health Initiative


CAPE’s Minority Health Initiative focuses on “eliminating health disparities” and enhancing quality of life through education, advocacy, and quality health care services.


Sabrina Cawthorne
Director of Minority Health
401 SE 6th Street, Suite 001
Evansville, IN 47713
Phone: (812) 492-3938
Fax: (812) 425-4255

Advocated for Key Challenges

We communicate by appearance, by actions, and by policies, flowing in all directions… upward, downward and laterally for the Minority Health Initiative’s continued success in “eliminating health disparities”.

Gloria Gibson, Board President
Gary Roan, CEO

Funding Source: Indiana Minority Health Coalition

Brief History

CAPE’s Minority Health Initiative falls under the auspices of the Community Action Program of Evansville, a 501 c3 non-profit organization, and the Indiana Minority Health Coalition, a state-wide non-profit organization.

Founded in 1987, local minority health coalitions, with the assistance of the Indiana Black Legislative Caucus, met and developed the first 5-year Minority Health Strategic Plan for Indiana.

Collaboration & Partnerships

AIDS Resource Group
Albion Fellow Bacon Center
American Cancer Society
American Diabetes Association
Anthem Community Resources Committee
CAPE Foster Grandparents Program
Carriage House Apartments
Carver Community Center
Christian Life Center
Deaconess Women’s Hospital
Evansville Commission on the Social Status of Black Males
Evansville Housing Authority
Evansville Human Relations Commission
Evansville Rescue Mission/YCC
Evansville Tri-State Affiliate of Susan G. Komen
House of Bread and Peace
Indiana Minority Health Coalition
Latino Collaboration Table
Patchwork Central
Potter’s Wheel Church
Purdue Family Nutrition
Smoke-Free Communities
Vanderburgh County Health Dept.
Welborn Baptist Foundation

Target Health Disparities

Health Literacy
Heart Disease
Infant Mortality
Mental Illness
Teen Pregnancy

CAPE’s MHI Advisory Group

Gary Roan, CEO
Sabrina Cawthorne, Coordinator
Lisa Allen
Wallace Corbitt
Gloria Gibson
Janet Johnson
Kerseclia Patterson
Tony Kirkland
Melanie Russell